The Most Dispensaries
Cannabis has exploded in popularity during the last decade. It’s no wonder that dispensaries are springing up all across the country. What was before a pipe dream for casual users and enthusiasts alike is becoming a reality.
What state has the most dispensaries in the United States? Oregon was one of the first states to legalize medicinal marijuana, in case you didn’t know. For this reason, it has the highest number of dispensaries per capita. There are over 660 dispensaries in the state, with 16.5 dispensaries per 100,000 capita.
Aside from Oregon, plenty of other states have many dispensaries, too. Without further adieu, here are the states with the most dispensaries per capita. And to keep you safe, I will also discuss what you need to know when visiting each state.
The state of Oregon is the Dispensary State. It has 16.5 dispensaries per 100,000, ranking fourth in the country in terms of tax income collection. According to research, $70.3 million is the annual tax income of Oregon.
Medford has the second-highest number of dispensaries in the country. Eugene is fourth, Portland is sixth, Salem is eighth, and Bend is tenth. Three more Oregon communities (Beaverton, Corvallis, and Springfield) made the criteria.
To legally acquire recreational cannabis in Oregon, you don’t need to be a resident. However, you must be able to show your age with government-issued identification at the time of purchase.
Recreational purchases do not require a specific card, such as what Oregon Medical Marijuana Program users need.
Those over 21 can have up to one ounce of smokable cannabis on them outside their household. Inside the home, they can have up to eight ounces. Adults can have 16 ounces in solid form and 72 ounces in liquid form of edibles and other cannabis products.
In addition, each family can have up to four marijuana plants. Smoking is illegal in all public places.
According to the research, the state’s medicinal marijuana industry has significant growth. It has 15.6 cannabis dispensaries per 100,000 residents, although many appear to be starving to death.
$70,000 is the annual tax revenue generated by these operations. However, its cities sell more marijuana than any other location in the country.
Moore is seventh, with Edmond coming in ninth. It doesn’t end there. Norman and Oklahoma City are 14th and 15th in rank, respectively. Tulsa and Lawton rank 17th and 18th, respectively, as do Enid, Broken Arrow, and Midwest City.
Children under the age of 18 are the only people who can enter a dispensary without a medical or caregiver card. However, an adult must accompany them with a valid medical card.
Please remember that you must have the actual ID. Dispensaries will not accept photocopies, screenshots, or other duplicates as ID.
We don’t hear much about the cannabis industry in Montana. It is, however, one of the states with the most dispensaries per capita in the US.
There are 15.1 dispensaries per 100,000 people. However, it only generates about $1.8 million in tax income each year. Despite this, a handful of its cities have the highest concentration of marijuana dispensaries in the country.
Missoula is number one in the US. The next step is a little further down the road. Billings, which is 22nd, has 7.3 dispensaries per 50,000 people.
The law lets those over the age of 21 possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana. It cannot be more than 8 grams (approximately 1/4 ounce) in concentrated form.
This law also includes all marijuana products consisting totally or in part of the resin from any marijuana plant.
Registered cardholders for medical marijuana will no longer feel the need to tie up with a single supplier. Instead, Montana medical marijuana patients can buy cannabis from state-licensed shops.
Another of the first states to legalize marijuana for adults aged 21 and up is high on the list. Colorado has 14.1 cannabis dispensaries per 100,000 people. $266 million is the annual tax revenue of this state, making it to the top states with dispensaries.
In many cities, it may seem like a dispensary is on every corner. Pueblo is third in the country, followed by Denver in fifth place. Boulder is 11th, and Colorado Springs is 13th.
A person must be 21 years old to possess one ounce of cannabis in both edibles and flowers. It is allowed to grow up to six plants as long as only three of them are flowering at the same time.
It is illegal to consume cannabis openly or publicly in public places such as parks, transportation hubs, or amusement parks.
A recreational dispensary can let you buy their products if you are over 21 and have a valid ID. Check before going in because some medical dispensaries will only service state-registered medical marijuana patients.
It may not appear that there are many places to acquire marijuana in the Last Frontier. However, it has a lot more than one might believe.
There are 12.7 marijuana dispensaries per 100,000 people in the state. It brings in $10.8 million in annual tax revenue. Unfortunately, none of the cities on the list have enough dispensaries per capita to qualify.
People over twenty-one years old can own up to one ounce of marijuana and six marijuana plants. The law demands businesses in Alaska to check buyer identification.
Adults can also give another adult up to one ounce of cannabis. In public spaces, including but not limited to parks, roadways, sidewalks, and businesses, all cannabis usage is illegal. The possession of marijuana is not legal in federally regulated skies and waters.
Washington is one of the first states in the US to legalize marijuana for recreational use. It now has 6.2 dispensaries per 100,000 residents. It also came in second nationally in money production, generating $319 million in tax income per year.
It’s also where you’ll find a few of the cities that topped the list of most dispensaries. At 20 and 21, respectively, were Bellingham and Olympia. Spokane is 27th, while Everett is 28th.
Over-21s can buy up to one ounce of smokable marijuana, 16 ounces of solid foods, 72 ounces of liquid cannabis. Not only that, but they can carry seven grams of concentrate.
It is illegal to smoke cannabis in public, which means that you should only smoke in private dwellings.
A medical marijuana authorization awarded by a healthcare practitioner is a must to visit a dispensary. Then, to get a medical recognition card, patients must meet with a licensed medical marijuana counselor.
7. New Mexico
The state has recently pushed for recreational marijuana. However, it will most likely have to stick to its therapeutic sector for the time being. Still, given the number of dispensaries available, it’s not bad.
The state has 5.2 dispensaries per 100,000 residents and collects $9 million in tax income each year. On the list of most dispensaries, it only has one city. With 5.9 per 50,000, Santa Fe came in 28th.
Cannabis is only legal to own and use for persons aged 21 and up. However, there are restrictions on where you may buy and use it.
You’ll need to store your supplies at home or somewhere else where nobody can see them. Possessing more than 2 ounces of cannabis, 16 grams of a cannabis extract, or 800 milligrams of edible in public is illegal.
The classification of violations is misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the severity of the offense.
Visitors can buy at medicinal marijuana dispensaries in New Mexico. They must only present verification of their medicinal marijuana qualifications as well as a photo ID.
It only seems sensible that a state with legalized gambling and prostitution would be on the list of most marijuana outlets. The Silver State has 2.4 dispensaries per 100,000 residents.
It has a whopping $69.8 in annual tax revenue. Despite this, none of its cities are among the top ten in terms of dispensaries.
People over twenty-one years old can possess up to one ounce of cannabis. They can also carry an eighth of an ounce of concentrated marijuana in the form of hash or edibles.
Adults can raise six plants at home as well. The use of marijuana in public venues and moving automobiles is strictly illegal.
After operating a medical marijuana program for several years, the state recently debuted its recreational sector. It has 1.7 dispensaries per 100,000 residents, contributing $2.4 million in marijuana taxes. Interestingly, none of its cities entered the top ten list of most dispensaries.
Anyone aged 21 and older may possess up to two and a half ounces of marijuana, fifteen grams of cannabis concentrate, and twelve plants.
The limit of marijuana possession for each household is only 10 ounces. Marijuana consumption in public places is illegal.
You need to have an MMMP card to enter a medical marijuana dispensary. However, cannabis is legal in the state for individuals 21 and over, so you may go to a recreational store.
It’s no surprise that California is having such a difficult time bringing its cannabis sector into the legal world. There are only 1.6 marijuana dispensaries per 100,000 people. It does not appear to be adequate to serve everyone who needs it.
Despite that, the state lost $354 million in tax income last year. Sure, it’s less than the initial estimates, but it’s still more than any other legal jurisdiction. There are more dispensaries in two of its cities than anywhere else.
The best places to find weed appear to be Cathedral City (12th in the country) and Santa Cruz (25th). They had 11.8 and 6.2 marijuana dispensaries per 50,000 people, respectively.
People over twenty-one years old can purchase up to one ounce of cannabis each day or eight grams of concentrates and edibles. Adults can have up to six plants at a time.
Dispensaries cannot sell products between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. Cannabis consumption within 1,000 feet of a school or daycare is illegal. It’s also against the law to have cannabis in a car unless it’s in a child-resistant container.
To acquire recreational cannabis, you must be 21 years old and provide a valid ID when entering a marijuana store. People who have a doctor-issued medical marijuana card must be at least 18 years old.
Things You Should Know before Dispensary Visit
Always Have Cash And Identification On You
The majority of marijuana stores only accept cash. Depending on how much pot you intend to buy, always make sure you have enough money to cover your expenses. Purchasing in bulk is usually far less expensive than purchasing smaller bundles.
Most dispensaries will also require you to provide your passport, ID, or driver’s license to prove your age. You can only enter any states that legalized marijuana if you are 21 years old or older. This rule does not have any exceptions.
Do Not Be Hesitant To Inquire
There’s no time for questions when you’re buying weed on the illegal market. You want to flee the scene as soon as possible because you’ve broken the law.
Marijuana dispensaries aren’t like other businesses. You’ll be able to work with budtenders here. A budtender will meet you once you enter the showroom area of the dispensary.
This person’s role is demonstrating things, answering inquiries, and possibly making recommendations.
A skilled budtender is more of a consultant than a cashier. He or she will ask the customer important questions to advise them on the best cannabis options. A lousy one, on the other hand, is like a tired convenience store clerk.
Invest In Products Fit For You
Products in dispensaries are not cheap. So, before spending money, keep in mind that these establishments do not accept returns. As a result, resist the temptation to acquire every product you believe you’ll like.
Most first-timers can’t resist impulse purchases. They suffer from buyers’ remorse once they learn they won’t be able to get their money back.
If you’re visiting a pot dispensary for the first time, familiarize yourself with the anticipated manners. The suggestions and locations listed above will help you have a better dispensary experience.
Have some fun trying new goods and learning everything you can about the new dispensary in town.