How Many Pot Plants Can I Have?
When people hear about home cannabis cultivation, it suddenly becomes a hot topic. As the legality of recreational and medical marijuana grows, citizens have more opportunities to grow pot plants.
Looking at every state’s laws regarding cannabis cultivation can be confusing.
A Must-Read: Bongs: Glass Vs Acrylic
How many pot plants can I have? Some states allow recreational growth of pot plants but restrict the number that you can cultivate. In Alabama, Georgia, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, Ohio, and Pennsylvania, you can’t have any pot plants because it’s illegal.
It can be tough to look for all the states where marijuana laws apply. Therefore, this helpful guide will be your friend.
Be a responsible adult when it comes to marijuana and cannabis, and use this helpful article to serve as your resource if you want to grow cannabis.
You will never know when you will need it.
States Where Marijuana Is Legal
Marijuana is a brown, green, or gray mixture of crumbled and dried parts of a marijuana plant.
It includes chemicals that trigger your brain and can change your consciousness.
You can use marijuana in many ways, like smoking it in a pipe, smoking it in a cigar, mixing it in food, brewing it like tea, and vaping.
The cannabis, weed, and marijuana industry is moving fast in ways that no one could have imagined.
However, marketing is not the only reason why marijuana has become legal in many states.
The evolution of this unique plant has been impressive.
It is essential to point out in which states it is legal to use pot, as there are laws determining how much you can possess, transport, and cultivate in your own house.
There are many differences. Some states allow only growth in homes; some permit only use, while others allow both.
Between the recreational and medical use of weed, states are more likely to approve it if the main reason is medicinal.
Understanding the laws of every state will give you more knowledge about growing and cultivating cannabis.
Weed cultivation in Alabama is illegal. The law prohibits marijuana in the Yellowhammer State.
Arkansas has penalties for the personal or recreational use of marijuana. If you own just one ounce for recreational use, the state can fine you up to $2,500 and you can be jailed for up to one year.
When you grow marijuana in Arkansas, it is already considered possession.
In May 2019, Arkansas made marijuana legal, though for medical uses only. Designated caregivers and patients must apply for an MMJ card.
Currently, Arkansas has more than 30 clinics. Because cannabis for medical purposes is legal, the number of clinics may increase.
Cannabis, marijuana, or weed is legal in Alaska for both recreational and medical uses. However, using cannabis in public places is a big no-no.
According to the state’s new law, adults who are 21 years and older can own, grow, and give away up to six pot plants.
However, remember that only three of the six plants can mature and be given to others.
No more than 12 pot plants can be planted, even if you have many family members aged 21 or older in the house.
Also, the law clearly states that only six or less can be mature and bloom.
If you plan to cultivate more than six pot plants, you can be charged with a felony and end up in prison for five years.
Cultivating cannabis for recreational purposes in Arizona can be a felony. Meanwhile, if you use marijuana for medical purposes, you must be a caregiver or qualifying patient.
Planting cannabis is allowed only on the caregiver’s or patient’s property; the cannabis should be in a locked or enclosed space.
Recently, new amendments state that you can grow only six pot plants in your residence.
The Arizona Department of Health Service requires establishing a system in which patients and non-profit dispensaries can register and renew their applications.
For dispensaries to be verified, they need identification cards that will be based on a web verification system.
Only recently did California legalize the use and cultivation of cannabis for personal purposes.
However, the law allows up to 100 square feet per property and six pot plants only. For medical reasons, there is no limit as long as you are a registered caregiver or patient.
Each state has different cultivation laws, so check your state for further information.
Patients who have debilitating health conditions and use medical weed for their recovery must secure a physician’s recommendation to have legal protection from the law.
Through Amendment 64, Colorado became the second state to allow marijuana, in December 2012.
Citizens can cultivate up to six pot plants, with only three allowed to mature and bloom at any one time.
Patients can also grow six plants, and they can sign up for a petition to have more plants (up to 36) as long as they use the plants for medical purposes only.
Medical weed addresses their medical conditions, and it is essential to them.
Though weed is somewhat decriminalized in Connecticut, it cannot be grown for personal and recreational purposes.
If found guilty of having illegal weed, you will face penalties and fines.
While you will face no jail time for having less than half an ounce, you can expect one year in jail or a penalty amounting to at least $2,000, or both if you have more than one ounce in your possession.
People who need cannabis for their medical conditions can legally use it. However, there are specific measures that they must meet. They should apply for a state MMJ card or get one if they are a caregiver.
Weed must not be used in public places. Medical weed patients can have only up to 2.5 ounces without violating the state’s law.
Cannabis use in Delaware is allowed only for qualifying caregivers and patients from the dispensary. However, cultivating marijuana, even for personal or medical use, is prohibited.
Patients can possess only up to three ounces and not more than that over a two-week time.
After many arguments and battles, Florida’s qualified medical patients recently won the right to use dry flowers. Even with this progress, though, not all kinds of home growth are allowed.
The Department of Health is responsible for the registration and regulation of dispensaries that grow and give out weed intended for medical purposes.
Also, caregivers and patients will need legal identification cards.
Georgia does not prohibit the cultivation or growth of any form of weed.
Only qualified caregivers and patients can cultivate up to 10 pot plants. However, they must have an MMJ card and a 329 card.
Also, the area where you plant must be registered with the Department of Health of Hawaii. You must possess no more than four ounces of weed at any given time.
If you want to use weed for recreational purposes, you cannot use more than one ounce. You can cultivate six marijuana plants, but only three can be mature and flowering at the same time.
In January 2020, the recreational use of weed in Illinois became a reality due to the passage of HB 1438. All qualified medical patients can now buy weed at any legal clinic.
However, growing weed is only for people who are named as cultivation center agents. They are individuals who work or do business on behalf of a legal clinic center.
In August 2019, the medical use of cannabis was legalized by the state. The LDAF, or Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry, is responsible for supervising the processing and production of medical weed.
While some states have lots of loose network dispensaries based on their guidelines, Louisiana is different.
Through the power of state-sanctioned agencies, weed is distributed to medical patients for sale.
The only individuals allowed to grow cannabis are those who come from specific departments.
In the state of Maine, the history of weed is vibrant. In 1913, Maine was the first state to allow the pot plant. In 1976, it became one of the first to decriminalize marijuana.
Weed was allowed for medical purposes in 1999 and became legal for recreational use in 2016.
People ages 21 and over can grow up to six mature, blooming pot plants. Also, they can possess about 2.5 ounces of weed.
Maine lawmakers passed LD 237 in 2018, allowing third-party extraction of weed for medical use.
LD 1539 added that one needs a doctor’s prescription to use medical weed for any medical condition.
This law eliminates the requirement of going to a medical dispensary as a caregiver to acquire medical weed.
Patients can also cultivate cannabis plants as long as they do not reach the limit of three pot plants.
Qualified caregivers and patients must apply for an MMJ card to have access to marijuana. Those who are approved can buy weed only from state-approved clinics.
Both caregivers and patients cannot have pot plants of their own on their premises.
Those with debilitating or chronic health conditions, including anorexia, glaucoma, cachexia, severe or chronic pain, seizures, and even PTSD, can use medical weed.
During the 2016 election, 54% voted to legalize weed. Every household can cultivate and grow up to six pot plants; the maximum is 12 when there is more than one adult in the residence.
Up to 10 ounces of dried herb can be stored in the home.
Because marijuana has many medical benefits, it became legal in Michigan for medicinal purposes.
Cannabis is for patients who are terminally ill and have acute diseases. As the years passed, it became legal for recreational use.
You can own from 2.5 ounces up to 10 ounces in your house.
You can also cultivate up to 12 pot plants as long as you are 21 years or older and in an enclosed space.
Growing marijuana in Minnesota is illegal, though the state is still debating the issue of allowing medical marijuana to be used at home.
There is a ban on cultivating cannabis in Mississippi. Citizens are hoping that this ban will be lifted, at least for medicinal purposes.
You can use weed in Missouri but for medical purposes only. Caregivers and medical patients can have four ounces every 30 days.
After paying a fee, you can cultivate up to six pot plants that are mature and flowering. Keep your pot plants locked up, secure, and in enclosed places.
Marijuana is legal for medical purposes. Having a card can give you many benefits, like the ability to grow a maximum of four mature pot plants, including four seedlings.
You can possess only one ounce of weed, eight vape cartridges, and eight grams of marijuana concentrate.
If two adults are living in the same house and both are cardholders, they can cultivate eight seedlings and eight mature plants on their property.
Also, whenever you grow weed in Montana, the plants and seedlings must be reported to the Department of Public Health.
The growth of any type of marijuana is illegal in Nebraska. The state does not have laws legalizing either medical or personal use of weed.
The state has proposed the creation of a medicinal weed system while cultivating remains illegal.
In November 2000, weed became legal for medical purposes, while in November 2016, Nevada legalized recreational marijuana use.
Now it is legal to cultivate weed for recreational use so long as one’s home is over 25 miles away from a clinic.
A person who meets the requirements above can grow up to six pot plants; per household, the limitation is 12 pot plants.
For some time, this state has allowed the use of cannabis for personal purposes. However, those aged 18 or over who are caught in possession of less than three-quarters of an ounce of weed may face violations and be subject to penalties of up to $100.
For more violations, the penalties increase.
If you have a medical condition and live in New Hampshire, you can apply for an MMJ card and purchase cannabis at any legal dispensary.
Recently, patients and caregivers were given the ability to cultivate their pot plants, which include three immature plants, three mature plants, and 12 seedlings.
Since 2007, growing marijuana has been legal in New Mexico for any medical purpose.
You will need an MMJ card if you are a medical patient or caregiver; you can cultivate up to 16 plants at a time, including four mature pot plants.
Cannabis for medical use is legal in the State of New York. However, you will need a valid MMJ card, and you can buy marijuana only in registered dispensaries.
Until now, it has not been legal to grow marijuana, even for medical purposes.
North Dakota does not have laws that permit growing weed for recreational and medical use.
However, the state allows for use by medical patients and caregivers. The amount should not exceed two and a half ounces and one cannot have over three ounces at any time.
The state has a medical weed system, but cultivating weed is illegal. While legalization has been proposed, people are still waiting for a vote.
Oklahoma is one of the states where marijuana use recently became legal, though only for medical purposes.
One needs a valid MMJ card to get cannabis in medical dispensaries. Approved medical patients can cultivate up to six mature pot plants and seedlings.
Since 2014, weed has been legal for recreational purposes. Individuals in Oregon can cultivate up to four pot plants on their premises as long as they are 21 years or older.
If you are a caregiver, you can cultivate up to eight patients at any given time, though only up to six pot plants for every patient.
Home cultivation of any type of weed is illegal in the state. You can face charges, violations, and fines if you are caught in possession of marijuana.
The legalization of marijuana in Rhode Island started in 2006 but only for medical purposes. Marijuana is legal for people who suffer from certain health conditions like AIDS/HIV and glaucoma.
Qualified medical patients can grow up to 12 seedlings and 12 plants. If caregivers also want to grow their own, they can do so as long as it is indoors.
After Vermont passed Senate Bill 76 in May 2004, medical marijuana became legal. In 2018, the state became the first to decriminalize weed for recreational or personal use.
Residents can cultivate a maximum of nine pot plants, though only two can be mature.
Washington was one of the first states to approve marijuana for recreational or personal use. Only qualified medical patients and registered dispensaries can grow cannabis.
You also need to be a voluntary state patient in Washington’s database to cultivate up to six pot plants. In addition, possessing eight ounces of usable marijuana is allowed so long as it came from your plants.
In Washington, D.C., marijuana became legal for recreational purposes in 2014. Individuals 21 years or older can cultivate six weed plants at their residences, but cannot sell them to gain income.
Instead of directly selling weed, some give it away as a present and sell something else, such as sunglasses, wallets, or t-shirts. However, officials disapprove of this.
On the other hand, you can grow up to 12 pot plants if more than one adult lives in your household. There can be six plants for each adult, and no more than three can be mature.
There are some states where you can legally cultivate pot plants at home and in enclosed places.
Violating their rules will incur severe fines and penalties. Some states allow only individuals with MMJ cardholders to cultivate and grow their own marijuana.
For example, in Georgia, weed is entirely legal, including for medical use. However, you can still get into a lot of trouble.
For example, if you are caught cultivating a pound of marijuana, you will face jail time of up to 10 years and a $5000 penalty.
If you grow over 10 pounds, expect to face 30 years of jail time.
Growing weed, cannabis, or marijuana is a fun and convenient thing to do.
However, you must always check the laws of your state before proceeding. No amount of weed is worth ruining your life by facing years of prison.